On December 19, 1990, Bishop Charles V. Grahmann of the Catholic Diocese of Dallas named Father R. James Balint as founding pastor of Catholic Community of West Plano. This community was formed to help meet the needs of Catholics in this quickly growing area of the diocese. The community began meeting in the Loews Theater in Preston Park Shopping Center. Within the first three months, three weekend Masses are celebrated weekly with an average attendance of 1204 and 406 households are registered. On April 7, 1991, the Community is named Prince of Peace Catholic Community. On August 19, 1991, Prince of Peace Catholic School is opened, with an attendance of 39 two and three year olds.

On February 21, 1993, Bishop Grahmann presides at our liturgy and at our groundbreaking ceremony. On Holy Thursday, March 31, 1994, our first Mass is celebrated in our new church.and on May 15, Bishop Grahmann dedicates our church. That August, Prince of Peace Catholic School moved into our new facility with 229 students.

On May 18, 1996, Larry Beyer was ordained a priest and was assigned to Prince of Peace as Associate Pastor and Dr. Louis Munoz was ordained a deacon and assigned to minister at Prince of Peace.

In 1998, the school was accredited by the Texas Catholic Conference and the Prince of Peace family religious education programs win the NCEA Mustard Seed Award under our director Kay Elliott.

On September 13, 1999, Father Jim led a delegation to Honduras and our parish entered into a sister parish relationship with Nuestra Senora de Las Mercedes (Our Lady of Mercies) Parish in El Progresso, Honduras. In 2000, Father Ramon, pastor of Las Mercedes visits Prince of Peace and leads us in our annual parish retreat. Also in 2000, Mr. David Tompsett is ordained to the order of deacons for ministry at Prince of Peace. In September, 2000, Prince of Peace raised enough funds to finance the construction of the Nutrition Center at Las Mercedes.

On June 3, 2001, Father Josef Vollmer-Konig was ordained a priest and was assigned to serve at Prince of Peace. On June 17 we were sorry to see Father Larry Beyer retire as our first Associate Pastor. Our first Music Director, Tony Lackland left to begin studies for the priesthood.

In June 2003, one of our founding members, John O'Leary, was ordained to the diaconate and was assigned to minister at Our Lady of Angels in Allen. We also dedicated our Childrens Learning Center and Youth Center building.

Our Resurrection Garden and columbarium was dedicated on November 16 of 2003.

On June 20, 2004, Father Andrew Semler was installed as Assistant Pastor. On April 16, 2005 Tony Lackland was ordained a deacon in Washington D. C. On May 7, Father Jim celebrated his 75th birthday and his investiture as a Prelate of Honor (Monsignor). Our bell tower was blessed and installed at the same time.

In May of 2006 Deacon Tony Lackland, was ordained a priest and was assigned to serve St. Joseph parish in Richardson. We also welcomed Fr. Roberto Butawan, a priest from the Phillipines, as our Associate Pastor. 2006 also found Prince of Peace Catholic School being awarded the National Blue Ribbon of Excellence from the National Education Agency in recognition for it's excellence in education.

In 2010, Fr. Jim retired as pastor of Prince of Peace and it was announced that our new pastor would be Fr. Tom Cloherty. It was also announced that we would receive a new associate pastor, Fr. Dominic Colangelo, who was newly ordained.

In 2012, it was announced that we would receive a new associate pastor, Fr. Marco Rangel.

Search Site